Useful Tips

What are the ex Yugoslavian countries?


What are the ex Yugoslavian countries?

Specifically, the six republics that made up the federation – Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia (including the regions of Kosovo and Vojvodina) and Slovenia.

When did Yugoslavia become capitalist?

In any case, it is true that, as early as in 1950, Yugoslavia rapidly integrated into the world capitalist system, which was under the domination of the victorious USA.

Was Yugoslavia a socialist country?

Despite retaining a communist one-party political regime throughout its existence (1945 – 1991), Yugoslavia was the first socialist country to attempt far-reaching economic reforms. Because of its early start and frequency of systemic changes, it was considered the most reformed socialist economy.

Was Yugoslavia a communist country?

While ostensibly a communist state, Yugoslavia broke away from the Soviet sphere of influence in 1948, became a founding member of the Non-Aligned Movement in 1961, and adopted a more de-centralized and less repressive form of government as compared with other East European communist states during the Cold War.

Why was unemployment so high in Yugoslavia?

Yugoslavia took on a number of International Monetary Fund (IMF) loans and subsequently fell into heavy debt. Deteriorating living conditions during the 1980s caused the Yugoslavian unemployment rate to reach 17 percent, while another 20 percent were underemployed. 60% of the unemployed were under the age of 25.

How much debt did Yugoslavia have?

Economy of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia

Gross external debt $18 billion (36th) (1991 est.)
Public finances
Revenues $6.4 billion (51st) (1991 est.)
Expenses $6.4 billion (52nd) (1991 est.)

Why did market socialism fail in Yugoslavia?

Growth effectively stopped once it became difficult to borrow after 1979. Though the authorities managed to reduce imports by deflating demand, the economy failed to restructure toward export-led growth; it is this failure to adjust which highlights the deficiencies of Yugoslav market socialism.

What are the names of the six countries of Yugoslavia?

Once Yugoslavia became what it is today, the country transformed from one nation into six separate republics. These countries include… Bosnia and Herzegovina ; Croatia ; Macedonia ; Montenegro ; Serbia ; Slovenia; Bosnia and Herzegovina. The current population of Bosnia and Herzegovina is currently about 3,502,004 people.

What was the political and economic structure of Yugoslavia?

The Yugoslav political and economic structure was indeed, initially, set up copying the Soviet model. The 1946 Constitution established Yugoslavia as a multinational federation based on ‘democratic centralism’, consisting of six republics: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia.

What kind of socialism do they have in Yugoslavia?

For over forty years, Yugoslavia has tried to develop its own model of socialism based on workers’ self-management, ample decentralisation, social ownership and increasing reliance on the market mechanism.

Is the Republic of Serbia still part of Yugoslavia?

For a brief moment, the Republic of Serbian Krajina separated from Yugoslavia as a result of the wars, but after a few different changes, the republic merged into the region that became Croatia, so the Republic of Serbian Krajina is not a separate place anymore. The land that once made up the Republic of Serbian Krajina is part of Croatia now.