Where is Australia located geographically?


Where is Australia located geographically?

Australia is a continent and an island located in Oceania between the Indian Ocean and the South Pacific Ocean. It shares its name with the country that claims control over it. Properly called the Commonwealth of Australia, its territory consists of the entire continent and smaller outlying islands.

What is the most common geographical feature in Australia?

Uluru is a massive sandstone rock formation that is one of Australia’s most noticeable geographic features. It is located in the southern part of the Australian state of the Northern Territory and is part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The sandstone formation is at an elevation of 2,831 feet above sea-level.

How is Australia divided geographically?

Australia is a relatively flat continent with low elevation highlands, including the Great Dividing Range along its eastern coast. The interior outback lacks precipitation and has numerous deserts.

What is the location and extent of Australia?

Australia – Location, size, and extent Lying southeast of Asia, between the Pacific and Indian oceans, Australia, the world’s smallest continent, is almost completely surrounded by ocean expanses. Australia is slightly smaller than the United States, with a total area of 7,686,850 sq km (2,967,909 sq mi).

What are 5 major geographical features?

Geographical Features

  • Mountains and Foothills. First, let’s look at the tallest geographical structures on the planet: mountains.
  • Plateaus.
  • Mesas. Another flat-topped elevation is the mesa.
  • Valleys. Lying in between some of these elevated structures are valleys.
  • Plains.
  • Deserts.
  • Basins.
  • Oceans.

What are the three major geographical features of Australia?

Australia, Zealandia, and New Guinea are continental islands. These three regions share some physical features. All three have mountain ranges or highlands—the Great Dividing Range in Australia; the North Island Volcanic Plateau and Southern Alps in New Zealand; and the New Guinea Highlands in Papua New Guinea.

What are the three main geographical regions of Australia?

Geography of Australia The red continent can be split into three geographical regions: the Western Plateau, the Central Lowland and the Eastern Highlands. Australia is both the flattest and the driest inhabited continent, and has three different time zones.

What is the old capital of Australia?

List of Australian capital cities

State/territory Capital Capital since
Australian Capital Territory Canberra 1913
New South Wales Sydney 1788
Northern Territory Darwin 1911
Queensland Brisbane 1860

What hemisphere is Australia located in?

Two continents, Australia and Antarctica, are located completely within the Southern Hemisphere, as well as parts of Africa, South America, and Asia.

What are the areas of Australia?

Australian region, one of the six major land areas of the world defined on the basis of its characteristic animal life. It encompasses Australia and the outlying islands of Tasmania, New Guinea, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia.

What is the geographic area of Australia?

Geography of Australia . Australia comprises a land area of almost 7.7 million square kilometres (sq km).

What is the terrain of Australia?

Australia is the smallest continent (and the largest island) in the world, and terrain ranges from baking red desert to lush green rainforest, and from world-renowned surfing beaches to snow-clad mountains.