Common questions

Who are the Wellington Rugby Football Union team?


Who are the Wellington Rugby Football Union team?

It is currently held by Waikato who defeated Hawke’s Bay on 9 October 2015 by 36–30. For the side that represents Wellington Rugby Football Union in the Mitre 10 Cup, see Wellington (Mitre 10 Cup).

How many times have Wellington Lions won the Mitre 10 Cup?

The senior Wellington representative team, the Wellington Lions play in the Mitre 10 Cup, which replaced the National Provincial Championship in 2006 as the Air New Zealand Cup. The Lions have won the provincial competition five times since its inception in 1976.

When was the last time Wellington Lions went to the Grand Final?

The Lions side have made it all the way to the grand final in seven times out of the last ten years (2004-2014), losing to Auckland in 2003, to Canterbury in 2004, to Waikato in 2006, Auckland in 2007, Canterbury in 2008, 2009 and most recently 2013.

Where do Wellington Lions play their home games?

The titles came in 1978, 1981, 1986, 2000 and most recently the second tier competition, the Championship, in 2017. Their colours are gold and black as shown on the Lions jersey. The Lions play their home games at the Sky Stadium (formerly named Westpac Stadium), previously playing at Athletic Park until 1999.

Who is the governing body for rugby in New Zealand?

The Wellington Rugby Football Union (known as the Wellington Lions for competition reasons) are a New Zealand governing body of rugby union in the New Zealand province of Wellington Region.

How old do you have to be to play rugby in Wellington?

High School rugby is organised by College Sport Wellington, with open-age/weight (Premier), weight-restricted (Under 80 kg, 65 kg, and 55 kg), and age-restricted (Under 15 years) for boys, and an open Girls grade. Each grade then comprises several divisions. Wellington Senior Club Championship Winners since 1880: