Useful Tips

Why was Swadesh Darshan launched?


Why was Swadesh Darshan launched?

Swadesh Darshan Scheme is a Central Sector scheme launched by the Ministry of Tourism, Government of India for the integrated development of theme-based tourist circuits. The scheme aims to promote, develop and harness the potential of tourism in India.

What is Swadesh Darshan Scheme Upsc?

About Swadesh Darshan Scheme: It was launched in 2014-15 by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture, Government of India. It theme-based tourist circuits in the country. These tourist circuits will be developed on the principles of high tourist value, competitiveness and sustainability in an integrated manner.

When was Swadesh Darshan Scheme launched?


Swadesh Darshan Scheme
Ministry Ministry of Tourism
Launched 2015
Status Active

How many tourism projects were sanctioned under Swadesh Darshan Scheme?

The Central government has sanctioned 16 projects under the Swadesh Darshan Scheme, and Rs 200 crore and a number of projects under the PRASHAD scheme for development of tourism in Northeast region.

What is paryatan PARV?

Paryatan Parv 2019 is dedicated to 150th Birth Anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi. The idea of Paryatan Parv is to propagate the message of ‘DekhoApna Desh’, with the objective to encourage Indians to visit various tourist destinations of the country and also to spread the message of ‘Tourism for All’.

How many circuits are there in Swadesh Darshan scheme?

13 Thematic Circuits Under Swadesh Darshan Scheme of India. The Modi Government had launched Swadesh Darshan Scheme to promote international and domestic tourism across the country.

What is Prasad Yojana?

Launch: The ‘National Mission on Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive (PRASAD)’ was launched by the Ministry of Tourism in the year 2014-15 with the objective of holistic development of identified pilgrimage destinations.

What is Prasad scheme launched by Union?

Under which scheme Ministry of Tourism identify rural and coastal circuits?

The Ministry of Tourism has launched the Swadesh Darshan Scheme for integrated development of theme-based tourist circuits for development of tourism infrastructure including last mile connectivity in the country.

What is called Prasad in English?

noun. Hinduism. A devotional offering made to a god, typically consisting of food that is later shared among devotees. ‘Still, their need is great, and they are finally persuaded to accept some food packets as prasad, sanctified offerings, from a religious organization, and thus maintain their dignity. ‘

What are the objectives and benefits of Swadesh Darshan and Prasad?

Get to know the objectives and benefits of the government schemes, Swadesh Darshan and PRASAD. India is a vast country with a rich and diverse heritage of religions, communities, culture, traditions and bio-diversity, all of which offer a wide choice of options for the keen traveller.

What was the budget allocation for Prasad scheme?

In early 2016, PRASAD was formally launched as part of ‘Swadesh Darshan’ with a total budget allocation of Rs 2,048 crore to fund 25 projects.

Which is the best site for Prasad scheme?

The sites selected for development under PRASAD include: 1 Amritsar, Punjab 2 Kedarnath, Uttarakhand 3 Badrinath, Uttarakhand 4 Katra, J&K 5 Hazratbal, J&K 6 Mathura, U.P 7 Ajmer, Rajasthan 8 Somnath, Gujarat 9 Trimbakeshwar, Maharashtra 10 Varanasi, U.P